Thursday, September 28, 2023
Home > Counties > CJ swears-in members of the national heroes’ council

CJ swears-in members of the national heroes’ council

The National Treasury and Economic Planning Principal Secretary, Dr. Chris Kiptoo, took the oath of office as a member of the National Heroes Council (NHC). Chief Justice (CJ) Martha Koome, who presided over the swearing-in ceremony at the Supreme Court of Kenya, urged the appointees to diligently serve the nation in accordance with the law and to put the interest of the people they serve first.

“Let the oath of office you have taken guide you in your day-to-day activities, and may you never depart from the law,” stressed Koome.

She noted that the positions of the NHC are titles of the nation, which uphold the ideals of the heroes and act as remembrance in ensuring that the stories continue to shape Kenya’s trajectory.

The CJ noted that for the country to preserve her history, the National Heroes Council must work towards coming up with ways of paying homage to the heroes for the sacrifices and indomitable spirit that have elevated the identity of the nation.

“The heroes are touchstones and roadsters guiding the country on the ideals upon which Kenya is built,” remarked Koome, who urged Kenyans to remember their acts of bravery, sacrifice, integrity, and resilience.

She added, “Our heroes have made immense contributions to various facets and spheres of our nation; that is indeed what makes them a fabric of our country.”

The CJ at the same time emphasized on the need for the council to preserve unsung stories, which will in turn motivate, inspire, and drive the current generation to a more vibrant and promising future.

In his remarks, NHC Chairperson Dr. Al-Hajj Adan Wachu said the Council is set to roll out and identify national heroes across the country.

Wachu revealed that out of the 7,000 applicants who had applied for positions in the National Heroes Council, only 21 qualified for the respective positions.

Charles Onyango Wambia is the Chief Executive Officer of the Council, established under Act 5 of 2014 in accordance with the state cooperation and legal framework (cap. 446).

By Phinta Amondi and Ali Sheikh Mohamed

Leave a Reply