Sunday, April 21, 2024
Home > Education > Delegates elect new students’ governing council at Muliro University

Delegates elect new students’ governing council at Muliro University

The  Students’ Electoral College  at  Masinde Muliro University of Science and Technology went to the polls on Monday to  elect new officials.

A  third year civil engineering student, Vincent Simiyu, was elected the Chairman of the Students’ Governing Council.

He  garnered 20 votes beating his lone competitor, Charles Nyakumbo who got 18 of the 38 votes of the delegates.

The  other elected council members were Carolyne Wachira, Vice Chairperson, Gerald Maina, Secretary General, Amon Kiptarus,  treasurer, Adson Were, academics secretary, John Mwanza, director of sports and entertainment and Lucy Kemunto the  director of gender.

This is the second election under the amended Act put in place by former Education Cabinet Secretary,Dr. Fred Matiang’i in  December 2016 where the delegate system replaced the popular vote.

The  Act  stipulates  that  the students’ fraternity, in public and  private universities, be ruled by a Students’ Governing Council  consisting  of  the chairperson, vice  chairperson  who must be  of  the opposite gender, a treasurer, a secretary general  and three other members who represent special interests.

Simiyu promised to agitate for the rights and the welfare of the electorate and appealed for support from colleagues.

“I am going to engage the university administration to ensure that matters to do with the students’ welfare are

prioritised,” he said.

By  Sammy  Mwibanda/Dickens  Akivaga

Leave a Reply