Narok Total Spurs win Governor’s cup

Counties Editor's Pick Narok Sports

Defending champions Total Spurs FC from Narok North Sub County are the winners of the Narok Governor’s cup after beating Ololulung’a FC 3-1 in a match played at the William Ole Ntimama Stadium.

Things seemed well for the Ololulung’a FC at the beginning as they scored their only goal in the 6th minute via Gitahi Chege.

However, in the 25th minute, Nabaala Saigero of Total Spurs gave his team a laugh after he successfully scored in a free kick. Total Spurs netted other goals in the 38th and 80th minutes through Brian Nyambane.

Total Spurs had earlier defeated Oletukat 1-0, while Ololulung’a had sent off Naikarra FC with a similar goal to qualify for the finals.

This is the third time Total Spurs are retaining the governor’s cup as they held it twice during former Governor Samuel Tunai’s administration and now becomes the first to retain the cup in Governor Patrick Ntutu’s administration.

More than 300 teams drawn from the 30 wards in the county took part for football and 60 teams for volleyball.

Former Kenya Premier League (KPL) Technical Director Patrick Naggi led the team that spearheaded the selection of the tournament’s best players for inclusion in the Narok FC in preparation of Kenya Youth Inter-County Sports Association (KYISA) which was sponsored by the Council of Governors.

Over 72 best players through scouting (36 boys and 36 girls) and between 18-23 years were selected to form Narok team for KYISA games at Chuka, Tharaka Nithi County on April 22-30.

The final tournament was graced by Sports Cabinet Secretary Ababu Namwamba and Narok Governor Patrick ole Ntutu.

CS Namwamba commended the County Government for the great initiative and promised to continue supporting the young people in nurturing their talents.

He reiterated that the government would be renovating the William Ole Ntimama stadium to get to international standards.

Governor Ntutu underscored the need to promote talent and expose the youth to opportunities in bigger clubs and leagues.

Also in attendance were Tourism PS John Oltutuaa, Narok Women Representative Rebecca Tonkei, Emurua Dikirr MP Johana Ngeno, Deputy Governor Tamalinye Koech and speaker Davis Dikirr.

The top teams were awarded cash prizes and medals.

By Ann Salaton and John Kaleke

Leave a Reply