Wednesday, May 29, 2024
Home > Counties > Residents of Narok welcome new Narok Amalo Sub County

Residents of Narok welcome new Narok Amalo Sub County

Residents of Narok South and West sub-Counties can breathe a sigh of relief after the gazettement of a new sub county that was created to enhance service delivery.

The residents led by Governor Patrick Ntutu met at Mulot trading centre where they held a thanks giving ceremony to welcome their new ‘Narok Amalo Sub County’.

Governor Ntutu thanked President William Ruto for giving the county a new sub county, saying it will enable the residents who used to trek for long distances looking for government services, to have services close to them.

Wards that will be moved to the new sub county include Mulot and Ilmotiok that were formerly in Narok West Sub County and Sogoo, Melelo and parts of Ololulunga wards that were formally in Narok South Sub County, with the headquarters being  at Sogoo trading centre.

Governor Ntutu said the move aims at ending tribalism in the county and uniting all the residents that live in the expansive Narok County, reiterating that a new sub county comes with numerous benefits among them creating job opportunities for the locals.

“My administration will build a Level Four hospital in the Sogoo area to bring quality health services close to wananchi. In the Mulot area, we will expand the existing maternity wing to a health centre,” he said.

He said the Rift Valley Regional Commissioner Dr Abdi Hassan will be visiting the county in a few days to install the new Assistant County Commissioner (ACC) for Sogoo Ward, who will in turn prepare the way for the new Deputy County Commissioner (DCC).

“Today is like a pre-wedding, as we await the real wedding when we will welcome our DCC. In the wedding, I am the one who will be marrying and the Narok West and Narok South Members of Parliament will be my best men. Then we will open the new sub county properly,” he said.

Ntutu encouraged the residents to support all the elected leaders and called on any person interested in a political seat to wait for the appropriate time to declare their interest.

Those present during the thanks giving ceremony were former Narok Governor Samuel Tunai, legislators Gabriel Tongoyo (Narok West), Kitilai Ole Ntutu (Narok South), Rebecca Tonkei (Narok County), Richard Kipkemoi (Bomet East) and David Sankok (EALA).

By Ann Salaton

Leave a Reply