Home > Counties > Senator Wamatangi bags Kiambu Gubernatorial Seat

Senator Wamatangi bags Kiambu Gubernatorial Seat

Kiambu Senator Kimani Wamatangi has emerged the winner of the Kiambu County Gubernatorial Seat after clinching 348,371 votes.

Wamatangi was presented with his certificate by County Returning Officer Arnold Mutwiri at the Kiambu Institute of Science and Technology (KIST) Tallying centre.

Wamatangi beat his closest challenger the outgoing Thika MP Patrick Wainaina (Jungle) who managed to get 237,361 votes

Kiambu County had 6 contenders vying for the Governor position who all had held previous leadership roles.

Former Kiambu Governor William Kabogo managed to get 106,980 votes while the outgoing governor James Nyoro garnered 99,562 votes.

Gatundu South MP Moses Kuria who had already conceded defeat managed to get 25,512 and the only Lady Mwende Gatabaki managed to get 4,674 votes

After receiving his certificate, Senator Wamatangi in a statement thanked the people of Kiambu for their support and pledged to work hand in hand with them to redeem the counties lost glory

“I want to thank God and the people of Kiambu for the honour and opportunity to serve in my new role as governor. I give my assurance and commitment that I will serve with utmost dedication and honesty as we focus on the delivery of the transformative agenda making Kiambu great again “, he said

Other results saw former MCA Karungo Thangwa (UDA) win the County Senator seat with a landslide victory after bagging 579,411 votes way ahead of Jubilee’s Jonathan Maara who came second with 112,304 votes.

Machel Waikenda of Chama Cha Kazi was in the third position with 38,534 votes followed closely by Alice Gathekia of Tujibebe (33,953), John Mugwe (Independent – 29,697), Caroline Makena (12,204), George Njoroge (Safina 7,566) and Joseph Kamau (6,840).

In the Woman Representative contest, Ann Wamuratha a well-known radio presenter beat eight opponents to capture the seat on a UDA ticket

She polled 405,402 votes with nominated MCA Mercy Nungari (Tujibebe) getting 212,115 votes to secure the second position.


In the third position was independent candidate Loise Kim who garnered 88,086 votes, Gladys Chania (Jubilee) managed 45,441, Lydia Ndung’u of ODM got 25,597, Njeri Bakari (Chama Cha Kazi – 15,673), Mary Kirika (14,644), Lennah Koinange (Independent -10,643) and Hellen Wachiuri (Independent -2,882).


By Wangari Ndirangu

Leave a Reply