Friday, February 23, 2024
Home > Counties > UDA scoops majority elective political positions in Uasin Gishu

UDA scoops majority elective political positions in Uasin Gishu

Outgoing Uasin Gishu Governor Jackson Kiplagat Mandago has been elected as the new Senator of the County on an UDA ticket after trouncing his only competitor Robert Arap Kemei.

Mandago garnered 252,848 votes out of the total 351,544 cast votes, while Kemei who vied as an independent candidate managed to get 94,875 as the United Democratic Alliance (UDA) party swept all the six parliamentary seats in the county.

Gladys Boss Shollei, also of UDA, successfully defended the Woman Rep seat after reaping 292,154 out of the total 350,407 votes cast beating the sole competitor, Dorcas Chebet of ODM.

On the other hand, Jonathan Bii Chelilim, aka Koti Moja, of UDA resoundingly beat his closest rival Zedekiah Bundotich (Buzeki), an Independent candidate after garnering 214,036 votes, while Bundotich managed 127,013. William Kirwa of UDM received 6,143 votes.

Bundotich conceded defeat and assured the governor-elect of his support in developing the county.

“The great people of Uasin Gishu have spoken through the ballot, we had our say, but the majority have had their way through universal suffrage, you have our support and prayers as you take over the noble task,” said Buzeki in his tweet.

In the parliamentary seats, Julius Rutto of UDA clinched the Kesess seat with 32,839 votes against the current MP Swarup Mishra’s 21,404 votes. Alex Kemboi and Stephen Teigut managed 406 and 175 votes to come third and fourth respectively. Both vied as independent candidates.

David Kiplagat of UDA won the Soy parliamentary seat after garnering 50,540 to edge out his sole competitor Dr. Elias Meli (independent candidate) who managed 14,623 votes.

In Ainabkoi former MP Samwel Chepkonga has recaptured the parliamentary seat after garnering 26,479 votes against the incumbent MP William Chepkut who managed to get 13,510.

Chepkonga, the UDA candidate who was dethroned by Chepkut during the 2017 elections as an independent candidate was declared the winner.

Chepkut, who vied for the seat as an independent candidate for the second time, conceded defeat and thanked the voters for giving him the opportunity to serve them for five years.

Teresa Maina managed to get 2701 votes, while Lina Komen came fourth with 735 votes, William Kiptum and Dorcas Chepkemboi received 448 and 274votes respectively.

In Moiben constituency Prof. Phyllis Bartoo (UDA) was declared the winner with 40,892 votes relegating the current MP Silas Tiren and former MP Joseph Lagat who managed to get 8,790 and 6,784 votes respectively.

Current Turbo MP Janet Sitienei retained her seat while Oscar Kipchumba Sudi of Kapseret also retained the seat after getting 31,534 votes against an independent candidate, Frank Murgor who managed 11,091 votes.

At the same time, UDA won a majority of the member of county assembly seats in the county losing only three. In the over 30 wards, Jubilee party candidates emerged winners with one independent candidate also managing to sail through despite the dormant UDA party wave.

Jubilee clinched the Huruma ward seat in Turbo constituency after Kimani Wanjohi dethroned incumbent MCA Lucy Chomba. She won the seat during a by-election after the death of her husband Peter Chomba and was seeking to retain the seat on a UDA ticket.

However, the final result announced by Turbo constituency returning officer Justus Naliakha showed that she garnered 6,079 votes to finish second against Wanjohi who garnered 8,003 votes.

Jubilee also retained Langas ward seat in Kapseret constituency through Francis Muya who garnered 5,859 votes against his main competitor Dan Mwangi of UDA who garnered 5,490 votes.

UDA’s Gilbert Tenai lost the Cheptiret/ Kipchamo seat to independent candidate Gilbert Kipsang Koskei. Koskei got 6,638 votes to be declared the winner against Tenai who managed 5,811 votes. Tenai was the Uasin Gishu county assembly deputy whip.

In Kiplombe ward, the ODM party failed to retain the seat after its candidate Ramadhan Werambo finished second with 4,129 votes. Lagat Kipchumba of UDA was declared the winner after garnering 9,634 votes.

Uasin Gishu County assembly deputy speaker Hoses Lamai narrowly lost his Kapsaos MCA seat to newcomer Isaac Kibet with a margin of 11 votes. Kibet garnered 3,966 votes to be declared the winner compared to Lamai’s 3,953.

By Kipatnui Cherono

Leave a Reply