Sunday, September 24, 2023
Home > Counties > Adams Kipsanai wins Keiyo North seat

Adams Kipsanai wins Keiyo North seat

Adams Kipsanai of UDA is the new Member of National Assembly for Keiyo North Constituency after garnering 26,560 votes.

Kipsanai beat his closest contestant who is the current MP Dr. James Murgor who got 11,213 votes. Murgor was contesting on an independent ticket.

Others were William Kipruto (Kanu) who garnered 310 votes while Celestine Seigut of ODM got 237 votes.

According to the constituency Returning Officer Nobert Kemei, 38,626 voters representing 80% of the 49,000 registered voters voted in this year’s election while 211 votes were rejected.

Speaking after his victory at the St. Patricks High School Iten, the MP elect thanked the voters for having faith in him and assured them that he will deliver on the various promises he made during the campaigns.

He thanked the current MP for what he has done in the constituency saying he will pick up from where he has left and called for unity from his contestants and all the constituents saying they can only transform the constituency if they work as a team.

In the gubernatorial seat, Wesley Rotich (UDA) got 35,087, Moses Changwony (independent) 836, Anthony Chelimo (Vision party) 2,204 and Tabitha Seii (ODM) 290.

Kipchumba Murkomen (UDA) vying for senator got 34,491, Alex Tolgos (Azimio) 3,504, Kipkosgei Ruto (Independent) 165 and Peter Keino (Independent) 75 votes.

Independent candidate Caroline Ng’elechei who was vying for the women rep seat got 22,870, incumbent Jane Chebaibai 15,000 while Kipchumba Rose another independent candidate got 408 votes.

Former Emsoo ward MCA Christopher Cheboiboch made a comeback after winning the seat with 2,887 votes on a UDA ticket against the current MCA John Yator who got 2,507 votes.

In Kamariny ward Benjamin Chetiony won with 10,841 votes, Stephen Cheruiyot won the Kapchemutwa ward with 11,196, Dominic Chesire won the Tambach ward with 4,873 votes. All the winners contested on the UDA ticket.

By Alice Wanjiru

Leave a Reply