Sunday, November 27, 2022
Home > Counties > IEBC targets 115,292 new voters in Murang’a County

IEBC targets 115,292 new voters in Murang’a County

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) has commenced the second phase of the Enhanced Continuous Voter Registration (ECVR) exercise.

The 21-day exercise across the country will run from January 17 to February 6 targeting 4.5 million voters.

Murang’a County Elections Manager, Joseph Mukewa, divulged to KNA that the exercise will take place in all the 35 wards in Murang’a County with three registration kits deployed per ward.

“This time we are targeting to register 115,292 new voters in the seven constituencies in Murang’a County,” Mukewa said.

Mukewa also stated that there is also one kit allocated in the seven constituencies and at the institutions of higher learning as well as at the Huduma centre in Murang’a town.

“The kits at Murang’a University, Michuki Technical Institute and Huduma centre are open kits and you can use them to register to vote anywhere in the country,” he said.

The IEBC is responsible for conducting and supervising referendums and elections in the country. Mukewa called on politicians to step up and mobilize all eligible voters to register as this is the last mass registration exercise.

He also called on all Kenyans who have attained the voting age since the last general election to ensure they have collected their national Identity cards and registered as voters.

“If you did not vote in 2017, then this is your chance to exercise your constitutional right and enroll as a voter,” he noted, adding, “after registration the new voter will be issued with an acknowledgement slip.”

Registered voters who would like to change their polling station are also encouraged to do so. Mukewa advised those intending to register not to wait until the last day of the exercise to avoid long queues at the end of the exercise.

Continuous voter registration has been ongoing.

By Purity Mugo and Anita Omwenga

Leave a Reply